Search

Please note that an application fee only extends an initial license to the next renewal date. Initial licenses do vary in duration. It is the responsibility of all licensees to renew their license before expiration. Failure to renew shall result in automatic forfeiture or suspension of the license by statute. Licenses which have forfeited are not automatically entitled to renew.

You are here

Home

Frequently Asked Questions - Primary Source Verifications

The South Dakota Board of Medical & Osteopathic Examiners (SDBMOE) requires primary source verification to make application for any type of licensure in South Dakota. The SDBMOE has communicated directly with the National Committee for Quality Assurance (NCQA) and have been assured that this meets the NCQA standard.

Yes, the applicant is required to request all post graduate training beginning with PGY1 to the final completion year verifications sent primary source to the Board.

  • (EMT) Advanced Life Support
  • (AT) Athletic Trainer
  • (GC) Genetic Counselors
  • (LN) Dietitian/Nutritionist
  • (MA) Medical Assistant
  • (MD/DO) Physician Surgeon
  • Medical Corporation or Limited Liability Company
  • (OT) Occupational Therapist
  • (OTA) Occupational Therapy Assistant
  • (PT) Physical Therapist
  • (PTA) Physical Therapist Assistant
  • (PA) Physician Assistant
  • Physician Assistant Corporation or Limited Liability Company
  • (RCP) Respiratory Therapist

 

There is a fee for primary source verification, $8 for the online service and $30 to send to another state board. Licensee profiles however have no charge and include expiration date, license type, supervision relationships and any board action.

No, however all public board actions since 2005 are available on the website. For earlier public board actions, prior to the current website, these are being placed as time permits.